top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShehara Ranasinghe

Phase 1, Post 8: Affirmative Action

I think this is a really interesting case.At first, I wasn’t sure who was right but after a lot of research and reading the cases. I personally think that the Judge was right to rule in Harvard's favor. Especially because there was no evidence found that shows that Harvard was discrimination against Asian Americans. I do think that the SFFA has good intentions and their mission: a student’s race and ethnicity should not be factors that either harm or help that student to gain admission to a competitive university is super important. However, I also think that it is important to have a very diverse campus. With SFFA they were arguing that Asian Americans are discriminated against during the admissions process even though the had high GPAs and Test scores as well as things like being on the speech and debate team and creating a math club. I kinda disagree with the fact that their ethnicity was the reason why they weren’t admitted. To me someone that is a well rounded candidate, has good grades but they also have a life outside academics and academic related clubs. I think that having a diverse campus promotes this rather than having the 400 smartest kids in the country. To me, the best ideas come from a group of diverse people with diverse backgrounds and life experiences. Sometimes you don’t have the highest grades and to be honest that doesn’t or shouldn’t really matter. I also think that the SFFA arguing that there should not be certain diversity goals isn’t correct. I think that there are a lot of super talented people who may live in areas that don’t allow them to get to their full potential. I think it is important for universities to take that into account. I honestly think that the college admissions process is pretty out of date and needs a modern day change to not only help people who don’t have the tools they need to get that high GPA or be the president of the speech and debate club but also those who do have those benefits and have worked super hard. Overall, I think that Harvard was in the right even though I think that SFFA have a great cause.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 13: Ansh Patel and Jordi Frank

I think this was a great topic for the second to last class. It was really interesting to hear from recent grads about their transitions and progress after graduating from NYU. Although Ansh’s work is

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page