top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShehara Ranasinghe

Phase 2, Post 2: Dr. Chadoosh Presentation

Dr. Chadoosh presented many aspects of the NYU Aging Incubator today, including some of the points below. Did any particular points stand out to you? Are there are any particular points on which you’re interested to contribute, particularly as a Tandon STEM student?


One of the points that stood out to me was when Dr.Chadoosh began by talking about the devaluing and the stigmatism about growing older. I never really thought about that much before, but it was interesting to think about. It made me realize how true that is especially with the pandemic. People are quarantining and at times, in my opinion, it feels like we are trapped and wasting days of our lives. This obviously is a really selfish thought because I know how important it is quarantine. Having a lot of time to think, makes you really resent growing older.

Furthermore, I didn't really know much about the Aging Incubator. I thought it was a smaller department, but it is really cool to see that there is over 260 internal members and the fact that they are international. He also mentioned an animated short film called "The Moon and The Son" which was created by John Canemaker. I watched the short film's trailer and I was really blown away. It gives you a great insight into the story of a son who is talking to who is father who died of a stroke. Even the 2 min trailer gives you chills because of the emotion and story. It shows how the son saw his father as he was aging and the process of how he dealt with it.


Moreover, I think the Student photo competition is really interesting. I know it was mentioned in class before, but I think in the future I may submit a photo. I also think it would be beneficial if this competition was more publicized because I am sure many more students would submit if they knew about it. I also think it's really admirable that they are still holding a lot of their programs like the NYDOH buddy program (even if it is just a phone call) and other initiatives during this time. I think it is important to normalize things as much as possible as it's great that they are still carrying on with everything.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 13: Ansh Patel and Jordi Frank

I think this was a great topic for the second to last class. It was really interesting to hear from recent grads about their transitions and progress after graduating from NYU. Although Ansh’s work is

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page