top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShehara Ranasinghe

Phase 2, Post 3: Toisha Tucker

One of their works, I didn’t catch what it was called, says “be mindful of your body”. They talked about how this was to make people mindful and to have them connect more with people instead of their devices. I think that is really important right now. We are in our homes usually on our devices. I checked my screen time and it went up by about 3-4 hours every day which is crazy. They also talked about how our devices are anthropomorphic and sort of hold a biography of our lives. This is so true, it’s so weird to think about how we treat our phones like another human being and how much time we actually spend on them. The picture they showed of the people in Washington Square Park just standing there on their phones wasn’t really surprising to me because you see that every day in the park. However, when I first saw that picture I thought it was like a movement or that the 2 people were trying to spread this message of how we are so attached to our phones.


They made me realize that we have so much technology in our homes that we interact with on a daily basis without thinking about the data and digital bodies we leave as an imprint from using these technologies. These thoughts came to me when I saw their picture of their wifi set up and the wires everywhere. Everyone has something like that in their homes and it really makes you think how much space these technologies take. They really do feel anthropomorphic, especially the picture they showed us of their Roomba/moving vacuum. It’s gotten to a point where technologies could be seen as pets or humans. Which is really weird to think about. I really enjoyed Toisha’s presentation. It really makes you think about how much we use technology and how big of a part of our lives it has become.






Here is my citation for a scholarly journal about AR!


Arvanitis, T.N., Petrou, A., Knight, J.F. et al. Human factors and qualitative pedagogical evaluation of a mobile augmented reality system for science education used by learners with physical disabilities. Pers Ubiquit Comput 13, 243–250 (2009). https://doi.org/10.1007/s00779-007-0187-7


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 13: Ansh Patel and Jordi Frank

I think this was a great topic for the second to last class. It was really interesting to hear from recent grads about their transitions and progress after graduating from NYU. Although Ansh’s work is

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page